Databases A-Z

An alphabetical list of important online resources

These resources are also organized by subject, including general resources for all subjects.

A

American Ancestors

This resource is not available at your location. You must be at the East Tennessee History Center to use the American Ancestors database.

Some of the databases available include: Massachusetts Vital Records through 1910, New York Probate Records (1787 - 1835), Social Security Death Index (SSDI), church records, newspapers and periodicals, city and town directories, court records, census, tax, and voter lists, diaries and journals, land records, military records, and published genealogies and biographies.

Ancestry.com Library Edition

This resource is not available at your location. You must be at the East Tennessee History Center to use the library edition of Ancestry.com.

Search an enhanced library version of the number one source for online family history research.

B
C

The Calvin M. McClung Digital Collection is an online archive of images from the Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection. This website makes it easy and fun to research, view and find compelling digital images and artifacts from our rich East Tennessee history. Check back often; images are constantly being added.

A premier resource of high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.

Automobile service and repair manuals. Thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

A collection of nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspapers, which document the diverse perspectives of the Civil War Era (1840-1865). This database covers a vast range of topics, including abolition, politics, religious themes, battle casualties, and the effects of the war on citizens, just to name a few.

D

Detailed United States demographic information including data on income, age, education level, consumer spending, and housing, combined with a powerful mapping tool and reporting capabilities you can use to assess business viability, analyze trends in a given population, and compare demographic characteristics among multiple geographies.

Lists about 600 community organizations in the Knox County area, with browse categories such as Hobby and Recreation, Retirees and Senior Citizens, Appalachia, Environment, and many more. Each listing contains a description of the organization along with basic contact information. You can explore further using tags, search with keywords such as "scholarships" or "volunteer," and download records for mailing lists.

The driver education program for Tennessee contains practice tests and driver's manuals for automobile, motorcycle and Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) drivers, plus detailed answers to over 100 questions related to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

F

FindMyPast.com Library Edition

This resource is only available in the library.

A leading supplier of online family history records, including over 2 billion historical records covering the United States, England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and other parts of the globe, as well as PERSI (Periodical Source Index), a comprehensive subject index of genealogy periodicals and some local history publications.

Includes several databases. ArticleFirst is an index of items listed on the table of contents pages of over 16,000 journals. Other databases index conference papers and proceedings, dissertations, Latin American journals, and open archives.

Format: Index

Foundation Directory Online Professional

This resource is available only at Lawson McGhee Library. An appointment with our Foundation Center librarian is recommended; call 865-215-8700 for more information.

Search foundations for your nonprofit corporation's fundraising project. Call 865-215-8700 to set up an appointment for learning and using the database.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

This resource is available only at Lawson McGhee Library.

Search foundation giving to individuals for a variety of purposes, including scholarships, student loans, fellowships, program development, internships, professorships, arts and cultural projects, research, awards/grants by nomination only and general welfare. Call 865-215-8700 to set up an appointment for learning and using the database.

Foundation Maps

This resource is available only at Lawson McGhee Library.

An interactive mapping tool for revealing geographic patterns of giving and funding relationships. Call 865-215-8700 to set up an appointment for learning and using the database.

G

A one-stop source for news, periodical articles and transcripts on a wide range of topics with coverage back to 1980 and millions of full-text articles. Updated daily. Provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library.

Format: Database of magazines
H
I

Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.

K

Watch over over 16,000 films on Kanopy including selections from Kino-Lorber, The Great Courses, PBS, and independent and world cinema.

Made especially for students in kindergarten through grade 5. Find pictures, maps, flags, stories, encyclopedia and magazine articles, and news about any subject for kids. Provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library.

Format: Database

Full page images of the historical archives (covering 1922–1990) are searchable along with—or separate from—the database of full-text articles in the current collection (1990 to the present). The historical archives are funded through the generous donations to the Library Foundation's From Papers to Pixels campaign.

L
M

An essential resource for finding experts on any sort of art, antique, or collectible item from James Bond memorabilia to Zsolnay tiles. Includes thousands of specialist dealers, appraisers, clubs, periodicals, repair and restoration services, museums and libraries, Internet resources, matching services, grading services, authenticators, pricing and auction services.

Contains corporate manuals (formerly known as Moody's manuals) ranging back to the early 1900s: corporate history, business description, annual reports, financial statements. Ford Equity Research Reports are searchable by sell/hold/buy recommendations. Semi-annually released Industry Reports provide detailed analysis and forecasts on two dozen major global industry sectors from Textiles to Aviation for the North American, European, Asia Pacific, and Latin American regions.

Mitchell 1 ProDemand

OnDemand5.com is available for customers at Lawson McGhee Library only. Information from the database may be sent to you; some restrictions apply. Call 215-8700.

The online version of the Mitchell's manuals for car repair, offering repair instructions and diagrams, Technical Service Bulletins, recalls, repair cost estimator, maintenance information. 

Get comprehensive financial information on stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, indexes, and market sectors. In the Investment Classroom (under Help and Education), choose from more than 100 courses on stocks, funds, and portfolio building. Find more news, worksheets, and financial tips under Articles and Videos.

Music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds for streaming. Subcollections of this database are available for jazz, classical, American song, world music, and sounds. You can send music tracks to your mobile device for 48 hours.

More than 5 billion historical ​records from all over the world, including the USA federal census (1790-1940) and the UK census (1841-1901) with images​, 1.5 billion exclusive family tree profiles from MyHeritage and Geni, millions of public records and tombstone photos, directories, guides, references, biographies and yearbooks, exclusive databases such as the Jewish Chronicle historical newspaper and many others. Choose MyHeritage on the EBSCOhost "Select New Service" page.

N

Provides page images of the East Coast edition from 2008 to roughly one month ago. Select and view by date only; no search engine is available. For the searchable archive, see ProQuest newspapers.

Format: Digital archive

Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more: millions of obituaries, staff-written articles, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections. Tennessee newspapers include papers for Knoxville, Maryville, Tazewell, Greeneville, LaFollette, Wartburg, Sevierville, Newport, Lenoir City, Oak Ridge, Kingston, and many others. Educators can use "Hot Topics" and "Special Reports" sections in curricula.

O

Authoritative reference books covering the full subject spectrum, plus English and bilingual dictionaries, timelines, quotations, maps and illustrations.

P

Includes The Atlanta Constitution‎ (1868–1984 with page images), Chicago Defender‎ (1909–1975), The New York Times (1851–2013 with page images), The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889–1999 with page images), The Washington Post‎ (1877–1999 with page images), and The Tennessean (2002–present, provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library).

R

A source for business and consumer research compiled from telephone directories, change-of-address filings, regulatory filings, annual reports, Chambers of Commerce, industry and government directories, business magazines, and trade publications. Businesses are called directly each year to update and validate information.

S

A collection of reference books covering health, history, literature, science, and social issues.

Format: Database of books

Over 1.5 million statistics on 80,000 topics presented in an easily understandable visual format. Read industry forecasts and find dossiers on many topics compiled by expert analysts. Download graphics and raw data for use in your own presentations and reports. Statista is available at any library location without a sign-in. To sign in without visiting the library, call 215-8700 for the username and password.

T

Animation, sound, music and narration are added to picture books. Read along or just let it read aloud to you. Watch National Geographic videos, also.

Expert tutors help you finish your homework, study for tests and write essays (read more about Tutor.com). Use a whiteboard and chat box, share files, even upload a photo of your assignment or textbook. With an account, you can tag and reconnect to your favorite tutors, store your assignments and documents in your virtual locker and go back to review your previous sessions when studying. Start with a video tour and a practice session. For elementary, middle and high school students only.

V

Get projections of price performance, key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects for hundreds of publicly traded stocks. Once you get connected to Value Line, go to Dashboard on the main menu of the site. From there, you can use the Summary & Index link in the Quick Links box to load the current issue. The quick link for the Small and Mid-Cap issue is "SMC Summary & Index." We do not subscribe to all sections of the site, but if you experience an irregularity using the Investment Survey or SMC, please clear your browser cookies.

Digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, oral histories, artifacts, etc.) documenting the history and culture of Tennessee. This site searches the "Growth of Democracy in Tennessee" database and the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture.

W

A suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. Provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library.

Format: Database

The catalog of thousands of libraries around the world, including us. You can register for your own account and use it to create lists to share with your friends, or contribute to the description of an item by posting ratings and reviews, factual notes or a table of contents.

Format: Database