Information on companies, industries and more in the form of news, magazines and journals, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library.
Find a product or supplier from among the 2 million European companies listed by industry sector, geographic area, size and activity.
Get financial strength and investment ratings for banks, health insurers, property and casualty insurers, life and annuity insurers, common stocks, bond and money market mutual funds, stock mutual funds, exchange-traded funds. Also get individually-customized Medigap reports and financial planning worksheets.
Related File: Financial Ratings Series tip sheet
Directory information, plus insight and analysis about companies.
Contains corporate manuals (formerly known as Moody's manuals) ranging back to the early 1900s: corporate history, business description, annual reports, financial statements. Ford Equity Research Reports are searchable by sell/hold/buy recommendations. Semi-annually released Industry Reports provide detailed analysis and forecasts on two dozen major global industry sectors from Textiles to Aviation for the North American, European, Asia Pacific, and Latin American regions.
Format: Database of books
Company information such as corporate tree, key personnel, competitors, sales, and employment trends. Also Nielsen Demographic Reports.
Related File: Tips for Mergent Intellect
A source for business and consumer research compiled from telephone directories, change-of-address filings, regulatory filings, annual reports, Chambers of Commerce, industry and government directories, business magazines, and trade publications. Businesses are called directly each year to update and validate information.
Related File: ReferenceUSA tips
Cityview magazine profiles local business leaders, attorneys, doctors, and cultural movers and shakers. The periodicals room of Lawson McGhee Library has back issues. The magazine's website has no index to the topics of past issues, but two fairly recent articles list local entrepreneurs and fast-growing private companies.
Format: Magazine in library
Downloadable magazines covering business and investing include Entrepreneur Magazine, Fast Company, Inc., Kiplinger's Personal Finance, and The Economist.
Format: Magazines to download
From Knoxville News Sentinel, in-depth information on the largest and most influential businesses in East Tennessee including venture capital, private equity, and angel networks for your startup. Find the data you need on local industry. Includes almost 100 business lists and an executive directory.
Format: Reference book in print
Search for Canadian companies, browse by industries and much more.
Information from company filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission has been parsed and annotated, with information about corporate responsibility issues added to the database by various researchers. Important details about accuracy
Search corporate information including registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.
All about franchising, a directory of franchisors, and suppliers by category.
The Web's largest database of customer-service information with direct phone numbers for large companies in 50 countries.
Popular company rankings
Search by call sign or location and find a broadcaster's information through the Federal Communications Commission license search.
Find a textile manufacturer by the registered identification number, or RN, on the label. The RN is a number issued by the Federal Trade Commission to a U.S. business engaged in the manufacture, importing, distribution, or sale of textile, wool, or fur products. Businesses aren't required to have these numbers, but they can use the number in place of a name on the label or tag that is required on those products.
Formerly known as Thomas Register of American Manufacturers, the "big green books" and "Thomas Registry," ThomasNet brings together industrial buyers and sellers nationally, regionally, and locally. Provides detailed information needed to make a purchasing or specifying decision, including line-item product details, supplier product catalogs, CAD drawings, and more.