Custom House Chronicles

Stories, historical tidbits, and musings from the East Tennessee History Center staff.
The Calvin M. McClung Digital Collection has digitized an early report to the state legislature that provides an overview of the institution that became Tennessee School for the Deaf.

Knoxville's Million Dollar Fire took place on April 8, 1897, beginning at the Hotel Knox and destroying many of the buildings on Gay Street. From the McClung Digital Collection, this booklet published by J. E. Auldridge includes an map showing the area affected and photos of that area before, during, and after the fire. In addition to the information about the fire, the advertisements in the booklet are a fascinating view of businesses in Knoxville.

Pages

Subscribe to Custom House Chronicles at the Knox County Public Library