Automobile service and repair manuals. Thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. See training videos.
Auto, home, and garden
Keep your car running, your yeast bread rising, and your garden producing.
Hundreds of volumes of encyclopedias and other ebooks covering all subject areas. Gale eBooks is included in Gale Power Search which searches the content of the ebooks along with magazines and other resources. If you want to browse the ebooks as books, this Gale eBooks interface is the better choice.
Format: Database of books
A collection of tens of thousands of ebooks and videos on essential and high-demand topics for business, coders, educators, makers, gamers, and those simply looking to grow personally and professionally. Books are fully searchable and always available, no "on hold" waiting.
O'Reilly for Public Libraries was purchased for the Library through the Shelton Bequest and Friends of the Library.
Format: Database of books
Related File: O'Reilly tip sheet
Learn about what's in home and health products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.
The driver education program for Tennessee contains practice tests and driver's manuals for automobile, motorcycle and Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) drivers, plus detailed answers to over 100 questions related to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Food safety and recall information provided by United States government agencies including Department of Agriculture, Food and Drug Administration, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
An Environmental Protection Agency website that compares automobile air emissions, fuel consumption, and more. See also FuelEconomy.gov for information to help you achieve the best fuel economy possible from your car.
Nourish Knoxville publishes this annual guide to locally grown and produced food.
Format: Online reference
An overview of considerations in raising backyard chickens. See also University of Kentucky Extension resources.
Resources on plants, food safety, and nutrition. Includes the Organic Roots Collection which archives historic documents published before 1942—a time before synthetic chemicals became widely used—containing information still very pertinent for today's organic and sustainable gardening.
Format: Digital archive
Provides objective, science-based information about pesticides and pesticide-related topics to enable people to make informed decisions; a cooperative effort of Oregon State University and the Environmental Protection Agency.
Standardized information about plants of the U.S. and its territories. Alternative crops, invasive and noxious weeds, crop nutrient tool, plant images, links to county level maps, more.
Search descriptive records about thousands of cookbooks and other works about food and nutrition in WorldCat. You can search by person, place, course, ingredient, method and more, and browse related works by author and topic. In the description, look for a link about editions, such as "2 editions in 1 languages held by 800 libraries" and click that. Then follow a link that shows ownership by many libraries (LIBS column) to find out if the cookbook is in our collection, and request it on interlibrary loan if not.