Information on companies, industries and more in the form of news, magazines and journals, statistical data, and in-depth reports including Plunkett Research. Provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library.
Get financial strength and investment ratings for banks, health insurers, property and casualty insurers, life and annuity insurers, common stocks, bond and money market mutual funds, stock mutual funds, exchange-traded funds. Get individually-customized Medigap reports and financial planning worksheets. Here's a training video, and the Help section is quite good.
Related File: Financial Ratings Series tip sheet
Contains corporate manuals (formerly known as Moody's manuals) ranging back to the early 1900s: corporate history, business description, annual reports, financial statements. Ford Equity Research Reports are searchable by sell/hold/buy recommendations. Semi-annually released Industry Reports provide detailed analysis and forecasts on two dozen major global industry sectors from Textiles to Aviation for the North American, European, Asia Pacific, and Latin American regions.
Format: Database of books
Company directory information such as corporate tree, key personnel, competitors, sales, and employment trends. Also a directory of individuals, and Nielsen Demographic Reports.
Related File: Tips for Mergent Intellect
Get comprehensive financial information on stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, indexes, and market sectors. Note: watch for "quantitative equity ratings," generated by a statistical model. In the Investment Classroom (under Help and Education), choose from more than 100 courses on stocks, funds, and portfolio building. Find more news, worksheets, and financial tips under Articles and Videos.
Related File: Morningstar tips
Get projections of price performance, key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects for hundreds of publicly traded stocks. Once you get connected to Value Line, go to Dashboard on the main menu of the site. From there, you can use the Summary & Index link in the Quick Links box to load the current issue. The quick link for the Small and Mid-Cap issue is "SMC Summary & Index." We do not subscribe to all sections of the site, but if you experience an irregularity using the Investment Survey or SMC, please clear your browser cookies.
Related File: Value Line tips
Downloadable magazines covering business and investing include Entrepreneur Magazine, Fast Company, Inc., Kiplinger's Personal Finance, and The Economist.
Format: Magazines to download
Covers climate change, environmental issues, entrepreneurship, finance, economics, agriculture, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, physical science, and physics.
Format: Database of books
Download ebooks and audiobooks that will help you prepare for retirement, boost your savings, and hone your investment strategy.
Search corporate information including registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.
A free guide to budgeting, funding for emergencies, credit and debt, mortgage refinancing, investing for retirement and college.
Format: Online reference
Investing education including a dictionary defining thousands of investment terms. Offers market analysis and trading tools.
A guide to help you invest wisely and avoid fraud.
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) takes disciplinary actions against firms and individuals for violations of laws, rules, and regulations. Also provides advice for avoiding fraud and finding a qualified investment professional (brokers, investment advisers and financial planners) to help you make sound investment decisions.