Expert tutors help you finish your homework, study for tests and write essays (read more about Tutor.com). Use a whiteboard and chat box (with optional audio), share files, even drop off a math problem or essay. You can use five sessions per week, tag and reconnect to your favorite tutors, store your assignments and documents in your virtual locker and go back to review your previous sessions when studying. Start with a video overview and a practice session. The SkillsCenter offers subject quizzes and other self-study tools (such as preparation for ASVAB, AP, ACT, and SAT exams) that are always available and do not count against your weekly limit.
Study guides, courses, and practice tests; how to do library research; help writing term papers; tutoring; and resources for educators.
More than 50 education topics are treated with substantive (over 500 words) articles in Newsbank Access World News. Tip: After selecting a topic, limit results to the United States using the country limiter in the left-hand column.
Format: Topic within database
A digital library of education research and information. The ERIC website offers another search interface plus additional resources.
Offers over 7000 courses (apps available) in business, technology and creative subject areas (such as marketing, project management, data analysis, communication, information technology, design, office software, programming, photography, 3D/animation, audio, video and Web development). Tutorials are segmented and indexed into tasks for just-in-time learning, and course playlists can map to specific job roles or competencies. New courses are added weekly. Many courses include downloadable practice files.
Lynda.com will migrate to LinkedIn Learning on September 19. You may not be able to access either Lynda.com or LinkedIn Learning for up to 18 hours as data is migrated. After the migration, users will be required to have a LinkedIn profile. Your account will follow your library card username to a LinkedIn profile. To create a LinkedIn profile, you need to provide any "first name," last initial, location (can be USA), and email address (feel free to use burners). Then you can change your notification and privacy settings and choose to not have your profile searchable on search engines.
Format: Downloadable or streaming media
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships that meet financial needs, take online practice tests and use test prep ebooks to obtain education goals.
- Test prep: Full-length, timed practice exams that simulate the actual testing experience for GED, HiSET, AP, ISEE, COOP, SSAT, CLEP, FCAT, SAT, ACT, PSAT, TAKS, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, TOEFL, TOEIC, PAX, PSB-RN, TEAS, U.S. citizenship, and many others. Diagnostic pre-tests help students determine where they stand and how much preparation they need before taking an exam.
- College and graduate school planning: Information on more than 4,000 accredited undergraduate schools, including school location, tuition, academics, admission requirements, campus life and much more. Descriptions of 30,000 graduate and professional education programs in more than 300 academic disciplines offered by more than 1500 accredited colleges and universities, corresponding to the six-volume Peterson’s Annual Guide to Graduate Study.
- Financial aid tools: Undergraduate scholarship search, financial aid award analyzer, college savings calculator, tuition cost finder and more.
- Career development: The Resume Builder and Virtual Careers Library tools assist students in building essential career skills—like how to build a resume, cover letter and interviewing tips for users at all career stages. Using the Career Module, tests help users map interests and aptitudes to the most suitable job categories, industries, and occupations.
- International tools: Helps individuals prepare to pass the TOEFL (iBT), TOEFL (PBT), TOEIC and U.S. citizenship tests with online practice tests and ebooks.
Format: Interactive online service
Related File: A guide to using TERC
Provides sections on education theory, psychology, law, government, school safety, diversity, curriculum, counseling, teaching methods, technology in education, testing, alternative education, teacher education, historical and international perspectives.
Format: Online reference
Hundreds of volumes of encyclopedias and other ebooks covering all subject areas. Gale Virtual Reference Library is included in Gale Power Search which searches the content of the books along with magazines and other resources. If you want to browse the books as books, the Gale Virtual Reference Library is the better choice.
Format: Database of books
Related File: Gale Virtual Reference Library tip sheet
Covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more. Intended for students and others interested in education funding.
Format: Online reference
Awards are indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more
Format: Reference book in print
Call Number: Reference 378.34 ULTI
Federal laws, regulations, and major case law with annotations and explanations to clarify special education law. The Wrightslaw website provides articles on many topics and a free newsletter.
Format: Reference book in print
Author: Wright, Peter W. D.
Pub Year: 2007
Call Number: 371.9 WRIG
The American Association of School Librarians honors websites, tools, and resources of exceptional value to inquiry-based teaching and learning. This site also provides a best apps list, plus other curriculum tools and resources.
An accessible books program supported by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs. People with dyslexia, blindness, cerebral palsy, and other reading barriers can customize their experience to suit their learning style and find virtually any book they need for school, work, or the joy of reading. Application for membership requires documentation of an eligible disability.
Analysis of college costs and value, including national data on the earnings of former college graduates and data on student debt.
Top universities and organizations offering courses online for anyone to take, for free.
The best source for freely available images is the new CC Search Project, on the link above. But for music and other media, use the old CC Search.
A directory of websites, mobile apps, and desktop programs for education that are rated and reviewed by parents and educators.
A nonprofit created by Harvard and MIT, bringing the best of higher education to an open online environment. Currently the classes are free.
A directory of camps accredited by the American Camp Association. Lawson McGhee Library has a subscription to Camping Magazine published by the association.
Graphite™ is a free service from nonprofit Common Sense Education designed to help preK-12 educators discover, use, and share the best apps, games, websites, and digital curricula for their students by providing unbiased, rigorous ratings and practical insights from an active community of teachers.
From cooking to 3D printing, to making just about anything fly, Instructables document countless hours of tinkering, soldering, stitching, frying, and fun, making just about anything.
Earn badges and points as you learn through an extensive library of resources that covers math, science, and the humanities.
Helps parents get acquainted with the Tennessee public school system by providing general information about how to enroll, understand the school system, and get involved with their child’s education.
A federal agency that produces statistics, reports, and reviews on education activities, including internationally. Provides a search engine for schools and colleges.
The best in free ebooks, audiobooks, movies, online courses and educational resources scattered across the Web.
Format: Digital archive
Directory presenting facts, basic descriptions, and contact information for more than 1700 primary and secondary schools.
Publications, fact sheets, and other resources to help you prepare and pay for college or career school.
The publisher of the Guide to Summer Programs hasn't updated the reference book, but the publisher is associated with this online directory of summer programs. See also Find a Camp.
An information and referral service for persons with disabilities, family members, service providers, and advocates. Topics include arts and recreation, assistive technology, disability etiquette, disaster and emergency preparedness, education, employment, health care, housing, law, mental health, religion and spirituality, support for families, and transportation.
Offers free course materials that anyone can use, anytime.
This short guide (PDF) presents the basic steps of working on a research project for school, with recommendations specific to the resources of Knox County Public Library.
Find titles in The Great Courses series published by The Teaching Company on compact disc audiobook.
Find titles in The Great Courses series published by The Teaching Company on DVD.
Format: Catalog search