This resource is available only at the East Tennessee History Center. Some of the databases available include: Massachusetts Vital Records through 1910, New York Probate Records (1787 - 1835), Social Security Death Index (SSDI), church records, newspapers and periodicals, city and town directories, court records, census, tax, and voter lists, diaries and journals, land records, military records, and published genealogies and biographies.
Family histories, biographical information, records, regional maps
This resource is available to remote users with a library card through December 31, 2021 and will continue to be re-evaluated. Search an enhanced library version of the number one source for online family history research.
The Calvin M. McClung Digital Collection is an online archive of images from the Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection. Research, view and find compelling digital images and artifacts from our rich East Tennessee history. Check back often; images are constantly being added.
This resource is only available in the library. A leading supplier of online family history records, including over 2 billion historical records covering the United States, England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and other parts of the globe, as well as PERSI (Periodical Source Index), a comprehensive subject index of genealogy periodicals and some local history publications.
A collection of historical military records dating back to the Revolutionary War. View names on the Vietnam Wall, find photos and letters, create Memorial Pages and much more. More than 470 million searchable records span hundreds of years. It's best to start with a simple, broad search such as a name or keyword search, then narrow those results using dates, places, and the available filters on the left side.
Coverage also includes:
- African American Archives
- Native American Archives
- FBI Case File Archives
- Holocaust Archives
More than 5 billion historical records from all over the world, including the USA federal census (1790-1940) and the UK census (1841-1901) with images, 1.5 billion exclusive family tree profiles from MyHeritage and Geni, millions of public records and tombstone photos, directories, guides, references, biographies and yearbooks, exclusive databases such as the Jewish Chronicle historical newspaper and many others. Choose MyHeritage on the EBSCOhost "Select New Service" page.
A collection of diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives written by Southerners, mostly those whose voices were less prominent in their time, including African Americans, women, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans.
Format: Digital archive
Alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissidents, radicals, activists, Native Americans, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Format: Digital archive
Provides nearly two million detailed descriptions of historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept. These are not digital archives: the description of an item does not link to an online representation.