Definitions of legal terms and concise articles on legal topics. Among the several books is the Guide to Latin in International Law--indispensable. This is a subcollection of Oxford Reference.
Law and government
A large database of full-text legal resources, including law journals, regulations, government documents, and treaties. This resource is provided as a database trial. Please give your feedback.
Gale LegalForms provides downloadable forms specific to Tennessee for various business or personal needs. Includes business letters, handbooks and checklists, résumés and cover letters for job seekers. Law digest articles clarify legal topics. Note: this product also offers "web forms" which can be a privacy risk. We recommend that you download a form and fill it out in word processing software. Be cautious about using web-based forms.
Related File: Gale LegalForms tip sheet
Cityview magazine publishes an annual "Top Attorneys" list of the attorneys selected by other Knoxville attorneys as the best in their respective fields.
Format: Magazine website
Three ebook collections are hosted on EBSCOhost Research Databases, with titles to fill a wide variety of research and recreational needs. Books may be downloaded in EPUB format. This resource is provided as a database trial. Please give your feedback.
Format: Downloadable or streaming media
Hundreds of volumes of encyclopedias and other ebooks covering all subject areas. Gale eBooks is included in Gale Power Search which searches the content of the ebooks along with magazines and other resources. If you want to browse the ebooks as books, this Gale eBooks interface is the better choice.
Format: Database of books
Related File: Gale Virtual Reference Library tip sheet
Indexes much of the 20th century's cultural heritage as documented by participating public broadcasting stations, including interviews and performances by notable people from a broad variety of professions and cultural genres. Online playback of thousands of hours of programming plus data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations. Special collections include Eyes on the Prize civil rights interviews, Woman series covering the women's movement, Ken Burns' The Civil War interviews, and American Masters.
Format: Digital archive
Serves as a policy and research resource for state leaders, providing draft legislation and education on key issues; publishes The Book of the States which provides data comparisons for all 56 states, commonwealths and territories of the United States with charts and figures illustrating how state government operates.
Millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts, sponsored by the Free Law Project. Search by name, topic, or citation; listen to oral arguments.
Find laws, legal information and attorneys.
If you qualify, sign in to ask a question. An attorney will reply on the website and you'll receive an email when your question is answered.
Legal information on key issues and social services referral.
Profiles over one million lawyers and firms in the United States, Canada and 160 other countries.
Presents controversial issues in a pro-con format.
Use only the correct websites of government offices when you need to order birth certificates or other vital records (death, marriage, divorce). The Centers for Disease Control provides links for each state and other locations.
By the National Network to End Domestic Violence, Inc. providing information and referrals to help survivors of domestic violence.