Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code).
The general and permanent laws of the United States, consolidated and codified by subject.
The guide for preparing your tax return.
Format: Reference book in print
Call Number: 336.24 JKL
Reliable, understandable, and comprehensive guidance to Social Security and Medicare that helps you maximize your benefits.
Author: Landis, Andy.
Pub Year: 2016
Call Number: 344.7302 LAND
Learn about Medicare coverage, including Part D prescription drug coverage, and understand medigap insurance and Medicare managed care. Learn how to file an appeal with Medicare, Social Security, or your state's Medicaid agency, and how to claim disability benefits, veterans benefits, and federal retirement benefits.
Pub Year: 2015
Call Number: 344.7302 MATT
Covers veterans' benefits, rights, privileges, and services over which the Department of Veterans Affairs has jurisdiction.
Pub Year: 2015
Call Number: 355.11 WHAT
The primary way to access data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Puerto Rico Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Population Estimates Program and Annual Economic Surveys.
Offers searchable bill text, public laws by law number, House and Senate roll call votes, a searchable Congressional Record, and much more information on the legislative branch of U.S. Government.
Approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines the impact of policy alternatives.
- File a consumer complaint
- Register for Do Not Call
- Report identity theft
- Get your free credit report
- Deal with credit and debt problems
- Look for scam alerts
- Order free resources
See also the Bureau of Consumer Protection.
An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.
Millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts, sponsored by the Free Law Project. Search by name, topic, or citation; listen to oral arguments.
Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
A listing of digitization projects undertaken by libraries, United States Government agencies, and non-profit institutions with a goal to increase access to historical United States Government publications that were previously only available in print format.
Contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government. Assistance includes but is not limited to grants, loans, loan guarantees, scholarships, mortgage loans, and insurance. System for Award Management (SAM.gov) provides detailed descriptions of federal assistance listings available to State and local governments, other groups, and individuals. Once you identify a federal assistance listing that you’re interested in, you can go to Grants.gov or follow up with the specific agency.
Estimates are calculated by the Bureau of Labor Statistics with data collected from employers in all industry sectors in Knoxville.
A multimedia archive of the United States Supreme Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. (pronounced oh-yay)
Format: Digital archive
The U.S. State Department provides information on travel and business overseas, current conditions in foreign countries, and working abroad.
Search for and apply for patents and trademarks and learn about intellectual property protections.
The U.S. government's official Web portal offers popular topics and services and live chat.
Investigate federal government spending by geography, by agency, by keyword search, and more.